Bio Options

Jaime Berry is a native of rural Oklahoma and a former New York City public school teacher. After years with two small boys in a too-small Brooklyn apartment, Jaime and her husband moved to the wilds of suburban New Jersey and added another boy and a dog to the mix. Hope Springs is Jaime’s debut novel. 

Jaime Berry was born and raised in rural Oklahoma and lived down the road from her Grandmother and her aunt and cousins, who all farmed and fished and canned and gardened. She grew up with two sisters, many dogs and cats, a few roosters, a cantankerous horse, and a pig named Duke. Most of her stories take place in small towns and are about kids learning to be bold and brave and find their place in the world. Though no longer in the country, she spends plenty of time outside in New Jersey where she lives with her husband, three boys, two guinea pigs and one dog. Hope Springs is Jaime’s first book. You can visit her at jaimeberry.weebly.com or on Twitter @jaime_berry3.

Book Synopsis

Fans of Kate DiCamillo and Katherine Applegate will fall in love with this tug-at-your-heartstrings middle grade novel about one girl who is desperate to find the "perfect home".
 

Eleven-year-old Jubilee Johnson is an expert at three things: crafting, moving, and avoiding goodbyes. On the search for the "perfect place," she and her Nan live by their Number One Relocation Rule—just the two of them is all they need. But Jubilee's starting to feel like just two is a little too close to alone.

Desperate to settle down, Jubilee plans their next move, Hope Springs, Texas—home of her TV crafting idol, Arletta Paisley. Here she meets a girl set on winning the local fishing tournament and a boy who says exactly the right thing, by hardly speaking at all. Soon, Jubilee wonders if Hope Springs might just be the place to call home after all.

But when the town is threatened by a mega-chain superstore fronted by Arletta Paisley, Jubilee is faced with her toughest decision yet, skip town again or stand up to her onetime hero. With the help of her new friends and the one person she never thought she'd need—her Momma—will Jubilee find a way to save the town she's come to love and convince Nan that it's finally time to settle down?

 

Jaime Berry is a native of rural Oklahoma. After years with two small boys in a too-small Brooklyn apartment, Jaime and her husband moved to the wilds of suburban New Jersey and added another boy and a dog to the mix. Hope Springs is Jaime’s debut novel. She invites you to follow her on Twitter @jaime_berry3.

Images for Public Use: 

9780316540575_BERRY_HopeSpring_HC.jpg

Book cover design: Karina Granda

Cover Illustration: Oriol Vidal

2020_0724 Jamie Berry0816.jpg
2020_0724 Jamie Berry0814.jpg

Photo credit: Lee Seidenberg Photography